News and events

Find out what’s happening in our Trust

Shortlist for the 2024 Star Awards announced!

At the beginning of the year we asked for your help in recognising the fantastic work of staff and volunteers at Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust (MTW) as part of our Exceptional people, outstanding care Star Awards. A huge thank you must go to everyone who contributed towards the over 560 nominations that we received!

It was a tough job for our judges to whittle all of the nominations down, but we’re delighted to announce the shortlisted nominees for each of the categories are:

Patient First

For staff who go beyond normal expectations to care for patients with exceptional kindness, dignity and respect, showing the Trust commitment to putting our patients first in everything we do:

  • Becky Hankin, Learning Disability Nurse
  • Jennifer Weeks, Breast Clinician, Peggy wood breast care centre
  • Oliver Wildman, Consultant Obsetrician, Maternity


For staff who champion equality, diversity and inclusion and embody the Trust’s values:

  • Helen Burn, Deputy Chief Pharmacist
  • Ian Hunter, Therapy Assisted Discharge Administrator
  • Michelle Shannon, Neonatal Nursery Nurse, Infant Feeding Champion


Awarded to an individual or team who demonstrate a drive for continuous improvement, innovative thinking and willingness to embrace change and share ideas:

  • Alastair Henderson, Consultant Urologist, Clinical Lead
  • John Williams, Stroke Performance Analyst
  • Katie Campbell, Head of Clinical Coding
  • Virtual Ward team


This award recognises a support team whose work plays a key role in supporting MTW to deliver outstanding care and service to patients, staff and visitors:

  • Continuous Improvement Team
  • Endoscopy Training Hub, Kent and Medway Training Hub Team
  • Sally Russell, Domestic Assistant


An award that recognises excellence in leadership. A leader may not necessarily be a manager, but someone who displays behaviours that inspire others to achieve, demonstrates vision, and educates, mentors or supports others to help them develop their skills:

  • Annie Murphy, Head of Nursing
  • Brittany Buckwell-Boomsma, Healthcare Records Multi Section Manager
  • Sally Russell, Domestic Assistant

Hospital Hero

A staff superstar whose drive, enthusiasm, care and humour inspires and supports those around them:

  • Abraham Adegoke, Facilities Management
  • Jennifer Weeks, Breast Clinician, Peggy wood breast care centre
  • Sanghajit Wilmott, Palliative Care Nurse

Team of the Year

For a team that may have faced challenges and pressure but continued to deliver, working together to maintain care, quality or performance and contributing to our outstanding care vision:

  • Care After Death team
  • Domestic team
  • Stroke team at Maidstone Hospital

Volunteer of the Year

For a volunteer who made a real difference to a patient, relative, colleague or team through their community spirited commitment to supporting their local hospital:

  • Dennis Hollands, Cardiac Catheter Lab volunteer
  • Kate Hart Dyke, Patient Support volunteer
  • Lorraine Phillips Catter, Meet and Greet volunteer

The winners of these, and two further awards, will be announced at a special awards ceremony taking place on Friday 24 May. The two additional awards are:

Employee of the Year

The Employee of the Year is selected by the judging panel from staff awarded Employee of the Month. Employee of the Month provides an opportunity for any MTW member of staff or a volunteer to be recognised for their efforts:

  • Caron Douse, Cardiology Secretary
  • Obi Uzochukwu, Pharmacist
  • Florence Arnaez, Gynae Faster Diagnosis Specialist Nurse
  • Glen Place, Stroke Unit Health Care Support Worker
  • Emily Sturrock, Senior Inpatient Booker
  • Michael Warwick, Waste Management
  • Joe Brooks and Zack Corse, Clinical System Support Services
  • Beena Sandhu, HR Business Partner
  • Juanita Caseley, Advanced Nurse Practitioner
  • Joanne Yap Soldivillo, Staff Nurse
  • Donna Meers, Physiotherapist
  • Fiona Rooney, Admin Support Worker, Radiotherapy

Chair’s Award

This award recognises an exceptional member of staff or a team who have made an exemplary contribution to our ‘Exceptional people, outstanding care’ vision and have helped develop real change across the Trust. The winner is chosen by the Trust Chair and will be announced on the night of the awards ceremony.

Congratulations to all the nominees who have been voted for, and shortlisted, and thank you to everyone who has taken part. We’ll be back to share the winners at the end of the month.