News and events

Find out what’s happening in our Trust

Hospital awards celebrate staff stars

The fantastic work of staff and volunteers across Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust (MTW) was celebrated at the Trust’s Exceptional People, Outstanding Care Star Awards on Friday 24 May.

The 10 award categories reflect the Trust’s values and recognise the outstanding contribution of staff in delivering compassionate care. Among those honoured this year were pharmacists, nurses, doctors and support staff.

Miles Scott, Trust Chief Executive, said: “MTW is one of the best performing hospital trusts in the country in a number of key areas and this is down to the hard work of so many brilliant colleagues.

“We know there is more work to do but there is also a great deal to be proud of and this was a wonderful opportunity to recognise the commitment, innovation and team work shown by so many people every day.”

This year a record 560 nominations were submitted by staff, patients and members of the public in eight categories.

The Star Award categories and winners for 2024 are:

Patient First

For staff who go beyond normal expectations to care for patients with exceptional kindness, dignity and respect, showing the Trust commitment to putting our patients first in everything we do.

Winner – Becky Hankin, Learning Disability Nurse




For staff who champion equality, diversity and inclusion and embody the MTW values.

Winner – Helen Burn, Deputy Chief Pharmacist





Awarded to an individual or team who demonstrate a drive for continuous improvement, innovative thinking and willingness to embrace change and share ideas.

Winner – Alastair Henderson, Consultant Urologist and Clinical Lead





This award recognises a support team whose work plays a key role in supporting MTW to deliver outstanding care and service to patients, staff and visitors.

Winner – Kent and Medway Endoscopy Training Hub





An award that recognises excellence in leadership. A leader may not necessarily be a manager, but someone who displays behaviours that inspire others to achieve, demonstrates vision, and educates, mentors or supports others to help them develop their skills.

Winner – Brittany Buckwell-Boomsma



Team of the Year

For a team that may have faced challenges and pressure but continued to deliver, working together to maintain care, quality or performance and contributing to our outstanding care vision.

Winner – Care After Death team




Volunteer of the Year

For a volunteer who makes a real difference to a patient, relative, colleague or team through their community spirited commitment to supporting their local hospital.

Winner – Kate Hart Dyke




Hospital Hero

A staff superstar whose drive, enthusiasm, care and humour inspires and supports those around them.

Winner – Dr Jennifer Weeks, breast clinician




Employee of the Year

The Employee of the Year is selected by the judging panel from staff awarded Employee of the Month. (Employee of the Month provides an opportunity for any MTW member of staff or a volunteer to be recognised for their efforts.)

Winner – Glen Place, Stroke Unit Healthcare Support Worker



Chairman’s Award

This award recognises an exceptional member of staff or a team who have made an exemplary contribution to our ‘Exceptional people, outstanding care’ vision and have helped develop real change across the Trust. The winner is chosen by the Trust Chair.

Winner – Katie Campbell, Head of Clinical Coding