News and events

Find out what’s happening in our Trust

Chief Nursing Officer awards for healthcare support workers

The dedication of nine healthcare support workers (HCSWs) has been recognised in NHS England’s Chief Nursing Officer and Chief Midwifery Officer awards.

Annette Farrell and Debbie Knight from NHS England (South East) visited Maidstone Hospital, part of Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust (MTW) to present the awards, which are highly coveted in the nursing profession. The awards are presented every year to a small number of healthcare support workers in recognition of their compassion, dedication and demonstration of NHS values.

HCSWs support clinicians to deliver high quality care for patients, from helping with personal care and ensuring patients’ comfort to recording observations. Working at the heart of clinical settings, HCSWs make a real difference to patient experience and play an integral role in their care.

Chief Nurse, Jo Haworth, who attended the event, said: “I was delighted to see our healthcare support workers presented with such prestigious awards in recognition of their work and commitment. Healthcare support workers are crucial to the NHS and to us here at MTW; yhey make invaluable contributions to teams across our wards and departments. Through our Nursing and Midwifery strategy we are striving to ensure our workforce are skilled, kind and proud – qualities that are embodied by our deserving award winners.”

Congratulations to our winners:

  • Maxine Anderson – Pye Oliver ward
  • Samrat Gurung – Edith Cavell ward
  • Smiritee Purkayastha – Pye Oliver ward
  • Lorraine Macro – Short Stay Unit
  • Davia Zelskiene – Infusion Suite
  • Karen Fogg – Infection Control
  • Georgia Pinder – Mercer ward
  • Marlon Quijano – ITU
  • Rebecca Hicks – Staff Bank